Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

steve madden pembrook bootsYet another hat that is way too small for my head. This is how I deal.

Nothing beats Helmut Lang. I’ve fallen in love with the fashion house over the last few seasons and have slowly built a small collection (they share my love of asymmetrical hems… does it get any better?

steve madden pembrook

Nothing also beats a strong shoulder… a power shoulder.

Now, I’m not referring to the over the top padding from the 80’s.  This is a subtle (about as subtle as it can get) shoulder.  It’s maybe somewhere between the harsh, over the top 80’s…

liketotally80s.com

and Balmain (who doesn’t love those Balmain jackets from seasons ago??).

finkalixius.info

I also am loving the neckline. Truly a turtleneck but not the choking turtlenecks of childhood or the oversized droopy cowl neck from my Goodwill donation pile. It’s somewhere in between – gracefully draping the neck. Do I love Helmut Lang or do I love Helmut Lang?

helmut lang shoulder padsblack knit: Helmut Lang; fedora: Forever21; clutch: Forever21; open knit beige sweater: Helmut Lang; beige and wine booties: Steve Madden Pembrook.

PS. With regard to copyright – all images belong to little ol’ me (the wasp) unless otherwise stated. Be kind and give credit where credit is due.

