Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Silver knuckle ring: ebay.

Remember a while ago I posted a review on Chuck’s in downtown Raleigh?

What? You don’t remember? Lucky you, here is that very post. Well, I’ve been to Chuck’s a few times since (fortunately the last time with my beloved Nikon) and wanted to mention/show a few changes to the menu.

scarf: ebay; flannel shirt: Earl Jean; tank: Nylon for Urban Outfitters; hair: me (a big mess)

Initially there was only the 1/2 lb. chuck option…

‘The Big House’ – Hook’s 3-year cheddar, Tennessee sorghum-dijon and thyme -caramelized shallots.

Fries dipping sauce – ‘Green Peppercorn-Dijon’.

…well, that’s wonderful for you guys with a big hearty appetite. But for this little petunia it is overwhelming. Apparently someone at Chuck’s heard my cry for help and I can happily say that they now offer a smaller version of their overly delicious chuck (5 oz, to be exact).

‘The High and the Valley’ – crushed avocado, bacon-onion jam and blistered red peppers.

And of course, let’s not leave the fries out – you can add a smaller portion of fries to that burger. I’m in heaven now!

Ok, this isn’t the smaller side version, it’s the full size… my other half ordered it though… not me!

In my previous visits to this fine establishment I opted for Anderson Valley Amber. A decent drinking buddy to the burger and fries. At this visit I decided to try the Aviator (draft!)Root Beer.

I do like root beer but I can’t find exactly what I’m searching for in the widely distributed brands out there. The kind and generous lady at Chuck’s offered me a sample… I will remember that first sip for the rest of my life. I was sold! Aviator knows how to brew root beer. I don’t know what it is exactly – extra sassafras, extra sarsaparilla, extra spice (star anise, maybe?), a mix of all, or none of them… whatever it is they need to bottle it!

So, folks, there you have it. If you ever find yourself in the Raleigh area, get your tookus downtown and check out Chucks!   Believe me, it’s worth it! 🙂

PS. With regard to copyright – all images belong to little ol’ me (the wasp/the fig) unless otherwise stated. Be kind and give credit where credit is due.

